Photo Credit: Arena Football League Wiki

By Zane Miller

The first three seasons of the Arena Football League saw the Detroit Drive (pictured above) claim their first two championships in franchise history, while the Denver Dynamite also took their first and only AFL championship.

Pittsburgh Gladiators wide receiver Russell Hairston won the 1987 MVP Award, while Chicago Bruisers quarterback Ben Bennett won the award in 1988 and Detroit Drive wide receiver George LaFrance won it in 1989.

Most passing touchdowns: Matt Stevens (Los Angeles Cobras, 1988)- 50 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: Harold Smith (New England Steamrollers, 1988)- 6 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: Carl Aikens Jr. (Chicago Bruisers, 1988)- 21 TD & 934 yds

Most interceptions: Durwood Roquemore (Chicago Bruisers, 1988)- 11 INT

Most sacks: Craig Walls (Pittsburgh Gladiators, 1987)- 13 sacks

Best field goal percentage (min. 9 attempts): Nick Mike-Mayer (Los Angeles Cobras, 1988)- 5 for 13, 38.5%

ArenaBowl Results

Links to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: