The Board 

All credit goes to SkyHD Wallpaper.

The board has 64 squares, called “light” and “dark” squares.

The horizontal rows are called ranks, and are numbered 1 through 8.The vertical columns are called files, and are given letters A through H. Each squares has a name, based on the rank and file to which the square belongs. For example, “e4.”

White sets up on the first and second ranks, black on the seventh and eighth. Both sides have a white square in the right-hand corner. 

In diagrams and our demo board, the white pieces are usually on the bottom.The board explains the importance of the four centre squares: d4, e4, d5, and e5, or in other words The Downtown of The Chessboard.


The Pieces

The easiest sequence to teach is R, B, Q (like R & B combined), Kn, K, P:

                       Rook. Bishop. Queen. Knight. King. Pawn.


 Naming as Knight (not horse!); Rook (not castle or tower!).

 Only the knight can jump, even a piece of chess is on its square-way.

 Notice that the knight always jumps from a light square to a dark square or vice versa.

 Notice that the bishops spend the whole game on the same colour square.

Initial placement on the board:

 Queens are on their own colour, or on the d-file, like “diamonds.

 Kings and queens are across from each other

 Bishops are close advisers to the king and queen