Bismillahir Rahmanir Rahim

Mumbai Indians and Punjab Kings faced each other in the 23rd match of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 yesterday.


Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl first. Punjab Kings scored 198 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

Shikhar Dhawan, the highest run-scorer among the Punjab Kings' batsmen, scored 70 off 50 balls with three sixes and five fours. Sharma made 30 off 15 balls, Johnny Brystowe made 12 off 13 balls, and Shah Rukh Khan made 15 off 6 balls.

Among the Mumbai Indians bowlers, Basil Thambi took 2 for 47 off 4 overs, Unadkat took 4 for 44 off 1 over, Jaspreet Bumrah took 1 for 28 off 4 overs and Murugan Ashwin took 1 for 34 off 4 overs.

The Mumbai Indians scored 186 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs at a huge target of 199 runs, as a result of which they lost by 12 runs.

Among the Mumbai Indians batsmen, Dewald Brewis top-scored with 49 off 25 balls, while Suryakumar Yadav scored 43 off 30 balls, Tilak Verma 36 off 20 balls, Rohit Sharma 28 off 17 balls, Kieron Pollard 10 off 11 balls and Zaidev Unadkat 12 off 7 balls. Besides, no other batsman has been able to meet the double digit quota.

Among the bowlers of Punjab Kings, Odeyan Smith took 4 wickets for 30 runs off 3 overs, Kagiso Rabada took 2 wickets for 29 runs in 4 overs and Vaibhav Arora took 1 wicket for 43 runs with 4 overs.

Mayank Agrawal won the Man of the Match award.

Thanks everyone for reading my post today.