Asia cup is one of the most popular multinational One Day international cricket tournament. There were 16 occasions that this tournament held, 15 out of those are ODIs & in 2016 it was a T20I series.

1st edition of this Asia Cup played in 1984 in Sharjah. For the innaguaral tournament just 3 teams were participated. India, the World champions in that time, Pakistan & Sri Lanka were the 3 teams. This maiden series also known as Rothmans Asia Cup. However it was short tournament just include 3 round robin games.


India- Sunil Gavaskar

Pakistan- Zaheer Abbas

Sri Lanka- Duleep Mendis


In the tournament openening game, Pakistan & Sri Lanka met each other. Sri Lanka won the match by 5 wickets. It was Sri Lanka's 2nd victory against Pakistan in ODI cricket.

PAK 187/9 ( 46 overs) vs SL 190/5 (43.3 overs)

In the second game, India thrashed Sri Lanka by 10 wickets. SL batted first and just got out for 96 runs. India chased down the target without no wicket loss.

SL 96 all out (41 overs) vs IND 97/0 (21.4 overs)

In the last game of Asia Cup 1984, India beat Pakistan by 54 runs.

IND 188/4 (46 overs ) vs PAK 134 all out ( 39.4 overs)

At the end of the 3 games, India led the points table with 8 points & Sri Lanka got the second place with 4 points. Pakistan lost both the matches. So, India won the first Asia Cup in 1984.

Indian batsmen Surinder Khanna won the man of the series award as he was the leading run scorer in the tournament with 104 runs.

Watch the rare footage of 1984 Asia Cup below😋.