Photo Credit: Getty Images

By Zane Miller

On Friday, August 7th, 1992, Spain defeated Germany 2-1 in overtime in the gold medal game to win the fourth gold medal in women’s Olympic field hockey history. It was the first (and, as of this writing, only) gold medal for Spain in women’s field hockey. Germany took the silver medal, as South Korea took bronze by defeating Great Britain 4-3 in overtime in the bronze medal game. The tournament was held in Spain with Barcelona as the host city.

Franziska Hentschel of Germany and Jane Sixsmith of Great Britain tied for the most goals in the tournament with five. Each team played five games during the tournament, with three coming in the preliminary round and the other two being played in the classification round.

1992 Final Standings

1. Spain

2. Germany

3. Great Britain

4. South Korea

5. Australia

6. Netherlands

7. Canada

8. New Zealand

Game Results

Follow me on Twitter: