Photo Credit: Dr. Wolfgang Sternberger

By Zane Miller

On Thursday, August 26th, 2004, Germany defeated the Netherlands 2-1 in the gold medal game to win the seventh gold medal in women’s Olympic field hockey history. It was the first (and, as of this writing, only) gold medal for Germany in women’s field hockey. Netherlands took the silver medal, as Argentina took bronze by defeating China 1-0 in the bronze medal game. The tournament was held in Greece with Athens as the host city.

Mijntje Donners of the Netherlands and Jennifer Wilson of South Africa tied for the most goals in the tournament with five. Each team played six games during the tournament, with four in the preliminary round and two in the classification round, except for South Africa and Spain, who played five, with four games in the preliminary round and one in the classification round.

2004 Final Standings

1. Germany

2. Netherlands

3. Argentina

4. China

5. Australia

6. New Zealand

7. South Korea

8. Japan

9. South Africa

10. Spain

Game Results

Follow me on Twitter: