Photo Credit: Reuters

By Zane Miller

On Friday, August 22nd, 2008, Netherlands defeated China 2-0 in the gold medal game to win the eighth gold medal in women’s Olympic field hockey history. It was the second gold medal for Netherlands in women’s field hockey. China took the silver medal, as Argentina took bronze by defeating Germany 3-1 in the bronze medal game. The tournament was held in China with Beijing as the host city.

Maartje Paumen of the Netherlands scored the most goals in the tournament with 11. Each team played five games during the preliminary round.

2008 Final Standings

1. Netherlands

2. China

3. Argentina

4. Germany

5. Australia

6. Great Britain

7. Spain

8. United States

9. South Korea

10. Japan

11. South Africa

12. New Zealand

Game Results

Follow me on Twitter: