Photo Credit: NBC Olympics

By Zane Miller

On Friday, August 10th, 2012, Netherlands defeated Argentina 2-0 in the gold medal game to win the ninth gold medal in women’s Olympic field hockey history. It was the third (and, as of this writing, most recent) gold medal for Netherlands in women’s field hockey. Argentina took the silver medal, as Great Britain took bronze by defeating New Zealand 3-1 in the bronze medal game. The tournament was held in Great Britain with London as the host city.

Crista Cullen and Alex Danson, both of Great Britain, tied for the most goals in the tournament with five. Each team played five games during the preliminary round.

2012 Final Standings

1. Netherlands

2. Argentina

3. Great Britain

4. New Zealand

5. Australia

6. China

7. Germany

8. South Korea

9. Japan

10. South Africa

11. Belgium

12. United States

Game Results

Follow me on Twitter: