Photo Credit: SB Nation

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, February 24th, 1980, the United States defeated the Soviet Union by one point in the final standings to win the 14th gold medal in Olympic men’s ice hockey history. It was the second gold medal for the United States in Olympic men’s ice hockey. The Soviet Union took the silver medal with four points in the standings, claiming their first silver medal in Olympic men’s ice hockey. Sweden defeated Finland by one point in the standings, grabbing their second bronze medal in Olympic men’s ice hockey. The tournament is best remembered for the first game of the final round, which saw the United States defeat the Soviet Union for only the second time in team history, later becoming known as the "Miracle on Ice".

The tournament was held in the United States, with Lake Placid as the host city. Jaroslav Pouzar of Czechoslovakia scored the most goals during the tournament with eight. Jim Craig of the United States led goaltenders in save percentage at .924.

1980 Final Standings

1. United States (4-0-1, 1.000) (Gold)

2. Soviet Union (5-0, 1.000) (Silver)

3. Sweden (4-0-1, 1.000) (Bronze)

4. Finland (3-2, .600)

5. Czechoslovakia (3-2, .600)

6. Canada (3-2, .600)

7. Poland (2-3, .400)

8. Romania (1-3-1, .250)

9. Netherlands (1-3-1, .250)

10. West Germany (1-4, .200)

11. Norway (0-4-1, .000)

12. Japan (0-4-1, .000)

Game Results

Medalists final game starting lineups

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: