Photo Credit: Deutsche Welle

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, February 25th, 2018, the Olympic Athletes from Russia defeated Germany 4-3 in overtime in the gold medal game to win the 24th gold medal in Olympic men’s ice hockey history. It was the first gold medal for the OAR in Olympic men’s ice hockey. Germany took the silver medal with the loss, claiming their first silver medal in Olympic men’s ice hockey. Canada defeated the Czech Republic 6-4 in the bronze medal game, claiming their third bronze medal in Olympic men’s ice hockey. Due to the finding by the IOC that several Russian teams had used steroids during the 2012 Summer Olympics and 2014 Winter Olympics, Russia was suspended from competing in the 2018 Winter Olympics, as well as the 2021 Summer Olympics and 2022 Winter Olympics. However, Russian players who were cleared to participate were able to join the Olympic Athletes from Russia team.

The tournament was held in South Korea, with Pyeongchang as the host city. Kirill Kaprizov and Ilya Kovalchuk of the Olympic Athletes from Russia and Ryan Donato of the United States tied for the most goals scored during the tournament with five apiece. Jonas Hiller of Switzerland led goaltenders in save percentage at .956.

2018 Final Standings

1. Olympic Athletes from Russia (2-1, .667) (Gold)

2. Germany (1-2, .333) (Silver)

3. Canada (2-1, .667) (Bronze)

4. Czech Republic (3-0, 1.000)

5. Sweden (3-0, 1.000)

6. Finland (2-1, .667)

7. United States (1-2, .333)

8. Norway (0-3, .000)

9. Slovenia (2-1, .667)

10. Switzerland (1-2, .333)

11. Slovakia (1-2, .333)

12. South Korea (0-3, .000)

Game Results

Medalists final game starting lineups

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: