Photo Credit: Getty Images

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, November 21st, 2010, the 2010 NASCAR Cup Series season concluded with Jimmie Johnson defeating Denny Hamlin by 39 points to win the 62nd championship in Cup Series history. It was the fifth Cup Series championship for Johnson. Kevin Harvick claimed the regular season championship.

The 2010 Daytona 500 was won by Jamie McMurray, while Kevin Harvick led the most laps with 41.

2010 playoff results

12. #31 Jeff Burton (-589 points)

11. #2 Kurt Busch (-480)

10. #33 Clint Bowyer (-467)

9. #24 Jeff Gordon (-446)

8. #18 Kyle Busch (-440)

7. #14 Tony Stewart (-401)

6. #16 Greg Biffle (-375)

5. #17 Matt Kenseth (-328)

Photo Credit: Bleacher Report

Kenseth took fifth with six top-fives and 15 top-10s for an average finish of 12.8.

4. #99 Carl Edwards (-229)

Photo Credit: Bleacher Report

Edwards claimed fourth with two wins, nine top-fives and 19 top-10s, taking an average finish of 11.8, while leading the most laps in one race.

3. #29 Kevin Harvick (-41)

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Harvick grabbed the third spot with three victories, 16 top-fives and 26 top-10s for an average finish of 8.7. Harvick also led the most laps in two starts.

2. #11 Denny Hamlin (-39)

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Hamlin took runner-up with eight wins, 14 top-fives and 18 top-10s for an average finish of 12.9. Hamlin also led the most laps in five races.

1. #48 Jimmie Johnson

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Johnson picked up his fifth straight championship with six victories, 17 top-fives and 23 top-10s to take an average finish of 12.2, as he led the most laps in eight starts.

Race Winners (left) & Lap Leaders (right)

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: