Public Domain Photo

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, December 21st, 1941, the Chicago Bears defeated the New York Giants 37-9 in the 1941 NFL Championship Game to win the 22nd championship in NFL history. It was the fifth championship for the Bears franchise. The game was held at Wrigley Field in Chicago.

Out of Playoffs: Brooklyn Dodgers (7-4), Washington Redskins (6-5), Detroit Lions (4-6-1), Chicago Cardinals (3-7-1), Philadelphia Eagles (2-8-1), Cleveland Rams (2-9), Pittsburgh Steelers (1-9-1)

Out in first round: Green Bay Packers (L 33-14 to Bears)

Most passing touchdowns: #17 Cecil Isbell (Packers)- 15 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #8 Hugh Gallarneau (Bears)- 8 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #14 Don Hutson (Packers)- 10 TD

Most interceptions: #89 Marshall Goldberg (Cardinals)- 7 INT & 54 return yds

Best field goal percentage (min. 9 attempts): #30 Clarke Hinkle (Packers)- 6 for 14, 42.9%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: