Photo Credit: eBay

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, December 19th, 1948, the Philadelphia Eagles defeated the Chicago (now Arizona) Cardinals 7-0 in the 1948 NFL Championship Game to win the 29th championship in NFL history. It was the first championship for the Eagles franchise. The game was held at Shibe Park in Philadelphia.

Out of Playoffs: Chicago Bears (10-2), Washington Redskins (7-5), Los Angeles Rams (6-5-1), Pittsburgh Steelers (4-8), New York Giants (4-8), Green Bay Packers (3-9), Boston Yanks (3-9), Detroit Lions (2-10)

Most passing touchdowns: #11 Tommy Thompson (Eagles)- 25 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #15 Steve Van Buren (Eagles)- 10 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #80 Mal Kutner (Cardinals)- 14 TD

Most interceptions: #20 Dan Sandifer (Redskins)- 13 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 9 attempts): #65 Cliff Patton (Eagles)- 8 for 12, 66.7%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: