Photo Credit: eBay

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, December 28th, 1958, the Baltimore (now Indianapolis) Colts defeated the New York Giants 23-17 in overtime in the 1958 NFL Championship Game to win the 39th championship in NFL history. It was the first championship for the Colts franchise. The game was held at Yankee Stadium in New York.

Cleveland Browns fullback Jim Brown won the 1958 MVP Award with 17 rushing touchdowns and 1527 rushing yards.

Out of Playoffs: Chicago Bears (8-4), Los Angeles Rams (8-4), Pittsburgh Steelers (7-4-1), San Francisco 49ers (6-6), Washington Redskins (4-7-1), Detroit Lions (4-7-1), Philadelphia Eagles (2-9-1), Chicago Cardinals (2-9-1), Green Bay Packers (1-10-1)

Out in first round: Cleveland Browns (L 10-0 to Giants)

Most passing touchdowns: #19 Johnny Unitas (Colts)- 19 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #32 Jim Brown (Browns)- 17 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #82 Raymond Berry (Colts)- 9 TD

Most interceptions: #20 Jimmy Patton (Giants)- 11 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 9 attempts): #36 Paige Cothren (Rams)- 14 for 25, 56%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: