Photo Credit: eBay

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, December 27th, 1959, the Baltimore (now Indianapolis) Colts defeated the New York Giants 31-16 in the 1959 NFL Championship Game to win the 40th championship in NFL history. It was the second championship for the Colts franchise. The game was held at Memorial Stadium in Baltimore.

Baltimore Colts quarterback Johnny Unitas won the 1959 MVP Award with 32 passing touchdowns and 2899 passing yards.

Out of Playoffs: Chicago Bears (8-4), Cleveland Browns (7-5), Green Bay Packers (7-5), Philadelphia Eagles (7-5), San Francisco 49ers (7-5), Pittsburgh Steelers (6-5-1), Detroit Lions (3-8-1), Washington Redskins (3-9), Los Angeles Rams (2-10), Chicago Cardinals (2-10)

Most passing touchdowns: #19 Johnny Unitas (Colts)- 32 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #32 Jim Brown (Browns)- 14 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #82 Raymond Berry (Colts)- 14 TD

Most interceptions: #20 Milt Davis- 7 INT & 1 TD return

Best field goal percentage (min. 9 attempts): #88 Pat Summerall (Giants)- 20 for 29, 69%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: