Photo Credit: eBay

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, December 30th, 1962, the Green Bay Packers defeated the New York Giants 16-7 in the 1962 NFL Championship Game to win the 43rd championship in NFL history. It was the eighth championship for the Packers franchise. The game was held at Yankee Stadium in New York.

The Detroit Lions defeated the Pittsburgh Steelers 17-10 in the 1962 Playoff Bowl on Sunday, January 6th, 1963 to claim third place in the overall standings. The game was held at the Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida.

Green Bay Packers fullback Jim Taylor won the 1962 MVP Award with 19 rushing touchdowns and 1474 rushing yards.

Out of Playoffs: Chicago Bears (9-5), Cleveland Browns (7-6-1), Baltimore Colts (7-7), San Francisco 49ers (6-8), Washington Redskins (5-7-2), Dallas Cowboys (5-8-1), St. Louis Cardinals (4-9-1), Philadelphia Eagles (3-10-1), Minnesota Vikings (2-11-1), Los Angeles Rams (1-12-1)

Most passing touchdowns: #14 YA Tittle (Giants)- 33 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #31 Jim Taylor (Packers)- 19 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #82 Frank Clarke (Cowboys)- 14 TD

Most interceptions: #24 Willie Wood (Packers)- 9 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 11 attempts): #64 Jerry Kramer (Packers)- 9 for 11, 81.8%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: