Photo Credit: Chicago History Today

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, December 29th, 1963, the Chicago Bears defeated the New York Giants 14-10 in the 1963 NFL Championship Game to win the 44th championship in NFL history. It was the eighth championship for the Bears franchise. The game was held at Wrigley Field in Chicago.

The Green Bay Packers defeated the Cleveland Browns 40-23 in the 1963 Playoff Bowl on Sunday, January 5th, 1964 to claim third place in the overall standings. The game was held at the Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida.

New York Giants quarterback YA Tittle won the 1963 MVP Award with 36 passing touchdowns and 3145 passing yards.

Out of Playoffs: St. Louis Cardinals (9-5), Pittsburgh Steelers (7-4-3), Baltimore Colts (8-6), Detroit Lions (5-8-1), Minnesota Vikings (5-8-1), Los Angeles Rams (5-9), Dallas Cowboys (4-10), Washington Redskins (3-11), Philadelphia Eagles (2-10-2), San Francisco 49ers (2-12)

Most passing touchdowns: #14 YA Tittle (Giants)- 36 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #32 Jim Brown (Browns)- 12 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #41 Terry Barr (Lions)- 13 TD & 1086 yds

Most interceptions: #22 Dick Lynch (Giants)- 9 INT & 3 return TD

Best field goal percentage (min. 11 attempts): #76 Lou Groza (Browns)- 15 for 23, 65.6%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: