Photo Credit: NFL

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, December 27th, 1964, the Cleveland Browns defeated the Baltimore (now Indianapolis) Colts 27-0 in the 1964 NFL Championship Game to win the 45th championship in NFL history. It was the fourth (and, as of this writing, most recent) championship for the Browns franchise. The game was held at Cleveland Stadium in Cleveland.

The St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Green Bay Packers 24-17 in the 1964 Playoff Bowl on Sunday, January 3rd, 1965 to claim third place in the overall standings. The game was held at the Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida.

Baltimore Colts quarterback Johnny Unitas won the 1964 MVP Award with 19 passing touchdowns and 2824 passing yards.

Out of Playoffs: Minnesota Vikings (8-5-1), Detroit Lions (7-5-2), Philadelphia Eagles (6-8), Washington Redskins (6-8), Los Angeles Rams (5-7-2), Dallas Cowboys (5-8-1), Pittsburgh Steelers (5-9), Chicago Bears (5-9), San Francisco 49ers (4-10), New York Giants (2-10-2)

Most passing touchdowns: #13 Frank Ryan (Browns)- 25 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #24 Lenny Moore (Colts)- 16 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #47 Johnny Morris (Bears)- 10 TD & 1200 yds

Most interceptions: #26 Paul Krause (Redskins)- 12 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 11 attempts): #30 Bruce Gossett (Rams)- 18 for 24, 75%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: