Photo Credit: NFL

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, January 16th, 1972, the Dallas Cowboys defeated the Miami Dolphins in Super Bowl VI to win the 52nd championship in NFL history. It was the first championship for the Cowboys franchise as Cowboys quarterback Roger Staubach won the Super Bowl MVP Award. The game was held at Tulane Stadium in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Minnesota Vikings defensive tackle Alan Page won the 1971 MVP Award, becoming the first defensive player to win the award, while also winning the inaugural Defensive Player of the Year Award.

Out of Playoffs: Oakland Raiders (8-4-2), Los Angeles Rams (8-5-1), Detroit Lions (7-6-1), Atlanta Falcons (7-6-1), Philadelphia Eagles (6-7-1), Pittsburgh Steelers (6-8), New York Jets (6-8), New England Patriots (6-8), San Diego Chargers (6-8), Chicago Bears (6-8), Green Bay Packers (4-8-2), New Orleans Saints (4-8-2), Houston Oilers (4-9-1), St. Louis Cardinals (4-9-1), Denver Broncos (4-9-1), Cincinnati Bengals (4-10), New York Giants (4-10), Buffalo Bills (1-13)

Out in first round: Kansas City Chiefs (L 27-24 (2OT) to Dolphins), Washington Redskins (L 24-20 to 49ers), Minnesota Vikings (L 20-12 to Cowboys), Cleveland Browns (L 20-3 to Colts)

Out in second round: San Francisco 49ers (L 14-3 to Cowboys), Baltimore Colts (L 21-0 to Dolphins)

Most passing touchdowns: #21 John Hadl (Chargers)- 21 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #33 Duane Thomas (Cowboys)- 11 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #42 Paul Warfield (Dolphins)- 11 TD

Most interceptions: #28 Bill Bradley (Eagles)- 11 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 11 attempts): #19 Tom Dempsey (Eagles)- 12 for 17, 70.6%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: