Photo Credit: eBay

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, January 13th, 1974, the Miami Dolphins defeated the Minnesota Vikings 24-7 in Super Bowl VIII to win the 54th championship in NFL history. It was the second (and, as of this writing, most recent) championship for the Dolphins franchise as Dolphins fullback Larry Csonka won the Super Bowl MVP Award. The game was held at Rice Stadium in Houston.

Buffalo Bills running back OJ Simpson won the 1973 MVP Award with 12 rushing touchdowns and 2003 rushing yards, while Dolphins defensive back Dick Anderson won the 1973 Defensive Player of the Year Award, leading the league with 8 interceptions and 2 returned for touchdowns.

Out of Playoffs: Buffalo Bills (9-5), Atlanta Falcons (9-5), Kansas City Chiefs (7-5-2), Denver Broncos (7-5-2), Cleveland Browns (7-5-2), Detroit Lions (6-7-1), Green Bay Packers (5-7-2), Philadelphia Eagles (5-8-1), New England Patriots (5-9), San Francisco 49ers (5-9), New Orleans Saints (5-9), St. Louis Cardinals (4-9-1), New York Jets (4-10), Baltimore Colts (4-10), Chicago Bears (3-11), New York Giants (2-11-1), San Diego Chargers (2-11-1), Houston Oilers (1-13)

Out in first round: Pittsburgh Steelers (L 33-14 to Raiders), Cincinnati Bengals (L 34-16 to Dolphins), Los Angeles Rams (L 27-16 to Cowboys), Washington Redskins (L 27-20 to Vikings)

Out in second round: Oakland Raiders (L 27-10 to Dolphins), Dallas Cowboys (L 27-10 to Vikings)

Most passing touchdowns: #5 Roman Gabriel (Eagles)- 23 TD & 3219 yds

Most rushing touchdowns: #32 OJ Simpson (Bills)- 12 TD & 2003 yds

Most receiving touchdowns: #29 Harold Jackson (Rams)- 13 TD

Most interceptions: #40 Dick Anderson (Dolphins)- 8 INT & 2 TD returns

Best field goal percentage (min. 11 attempts): #30 Bruce Gossett (49ers)- 26 for 33, 78.8%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: