Photo Credit: eBay

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, January 18th, 1976, the Pittsburgh Steelers defeated the Dallas Cowboys 21-17 in Super Bowl X to win the 56th championship in NFL history. It was the second championship for the Steelers franchise as Steelers wide receiver Lynn Swann won the Super Bowl MVP Award. The game was held at the Orange Bowl in Miami.

Minnesota Vikings quarterback Fran Tarkenton won the 1975 MVP Award with 25 passing touchdowns and 2994 passing yards, while Steelers defensive back Mel Blount won the 1975 Defensive Player of the Year Award.

Out of Playoffs: Miami Dolphins (10-4), Houston Oilers (10-4), Buffalo Bills (8-6), Washington Redskins (8-6), Detroit Lions (7-7), Denver Broncos (6-8), San Francisco 49ers (5-9), Kansas City Chiefs (5-9), New York Giants (5-9), Chicago Bears (4-10), Atlanta Falcons (4-10), Green Bay Packers (4-10), Philadelphia Eagles (4-10), New York Jets (3-11), Cleveland Browns (3-11), New England Patriots (3-11), San Diego Chargers (2-12), New Orleans Saints (2-12)

Out in first round: Minnesota Vikings (L 17-14 to Cowboys), Baltimore Colts (L 28-10 to Steelers), St. Louis Cardinals (L 35-23 to Rams), Cincinnati Bengals (L 31-28 to Raiders)

Out in second round: Oakland Raiders (L 16-10 to Steelers), Los Angeles Rams (L 37-7 to Cowboys)

Most passing touchdowns: #10 Fran Tarkenton (Vikings)- 25 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #32 OJ Simpson (Bills)- 16 TD & 1817 yds

Most receiving touchdowns: #85 Mel Gray (Cardinals)- 11 TD & 926 yds

Most interceptions: #47 Mel Blount (Steelers)- 11 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 11 attempts): #1 Garo Yepremian (Dolphins)- 13 for 16, 81.3%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: