Photo Credit: Sports Illustrated

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, January 9th, 1977, the Oakland (now Las Vegas) Raiders defeated the Minnesota Vikings 32-14 in Super Bowl XI to win the 57th championship in NFL history. It was the first championship for the Raiders franchise as Raiders wide receiver Fred Biletnikoff won the Super Bowl MVP Award. The game was held at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California.

Baltimore Colts quarterback Bert Jones won the 1976 MVP Award with 24 passing touchdowns and 3104 passing yards, while Steelers linebacker Jack Lambert won the 1976 Defensive Player of the Year Award with two interceptions and eight fumble recoveries.

Out of Playoffs: Cincinnati Bengals (10-4), St. Louis Cardinals (10-4), Denver Broncos (9-5), Cleveland Browns (9-5), San Francisco 49ers (8-6), Chicago Bears (7-7), Miami Dolphins (6-8), Detroit Lions (6-8), San Diego Chargers (6-8), Green Bay Packers (5-9), Kansas City Chiefs (5-9), Houston Oilers (5-9), Philadelphia Eagles (4-10), Atlanta Falcons (4-10), New Orleans Saints (4-10), New York Jets (3-11), New York Giants (3-11), Buffalo Bills (2-12), Seattle Seahawks (2-12), Tampa Bay Buccaneers (0-14)

Out in first round: Baltimore Colts (L 40-14 to Steelers), Dallas Cowboys (L 14-12 to Rams), New England Patriots (L 24-21 to Raiders), Washington Redskins (L 35-20 to Vikings)

Out in second round: Los Angeles Rams (L 24-13 to Vikings), Pittsburgh Penguins (L 24-7 to Raiders)

Most passing touchdowns: #12 Ken Stabler (Raiders)- 27 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #32 Franco Harris (Steelers)- 14 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #21 Cliff Branch (Raiders)- 12 TD

Most interceptions: #28 Monte Jackson (Rams)- 10 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 11 attempts): #1 Efren Herrera (Cowboys)- 18 for 23, 78.3% (34/34 on PATs)

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: