Photo Credit: eBay

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, January 20th, 1980, the Pittsburgh Steelers defeated the Los Angeles Rams 31-19 in Super Bowl XIV to win the 60th championship in NFL history. It was the fourth championship for the Steelers franchise as Steelers quarterback Terry Bradshaw won the Super Bowl MVP Award for the second time. The game was held at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California.

Houston Oilers running back Earl Campbell won the 1979 MVP Award with 19 rushing touchdowns and 1697 rushing yards, while Tampa Bay Buccaneers defensive end Lee Roy Selmon won the 1979 Defensive Player of the Year Award.

Out of Playoffs: Washington Redskins (10-6), New England Patriots (9-7), Seattle Seahawks (9-7), Cleveland Browns (9-7), Oakland Raiders (9-7), New Orleans Saints (8-8), New York Jets (8-8), Minnesota Vikings (7-9), Buffalo Bills (7-9), Kansas City Chiefs (7-9), Atlanta Falcons (6-10), New York Giants (6-10), Green Bay Packers (5-11), St. Louis Cardinals (5-11), Baltimore Colts (5-11), Cincinnati Bengals (4-12), San Francisco 49ers (2-14), Detroit Lions (2-14)

Out in first round: Chicago Bears (L 27-17 to Eagles), Denver Broncos (L 13-7 to Oilers)

Out in second round: Dallas Cowboys (L 21-19 to Rams), San Diego Chargers (L 17-14 to Oilers), Miami Dolphins (L 34-14 to Steelers), Philadelphia Eagles (L 24-17 to Buccaneers)

Out in third round: Tampa Bay Buccaneers (L 9-0 to Rams), Houston Oilers (L 27-13 to Steelers)

Most passing touchdowns: #17 Brian Sipe (Browns)- 28 TD & 3793 yds

Most rushing touchdowns: #34 Earl Campbell (Oilers)- 19 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #86 Stanley Morgan (Patriots)- 12 TD

Most interceptions: #37 Mike Reinfeldt (Oilers)- 12 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 11 attempts): #16 Toni Fritsch (Oilers)- 21 for 25, 84%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: