Photo Credit: eBay

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, January 24th, 1982, the San Francisco 49ers defeated the Cincinnati Bengals 26-21 in Super Bowl XVI to win the 62nd championship in NFL history. It was the first championship for the 49ers franchise as 49ers quarterback Joe Montana won the Super Bowl MVP Award. The game was held at the Pontiac Silverdome in Pontiac, Michigan.

Bengals quarterback Ken Anderson won the 1981 MVP Award with 29 passing touchdowns and 3754 passing yards, while New York Giants linebacker Lawrence Taylor won the 1981 Defensive Player of the Year Award.

Out of Playoffs: Denver Broncos (10-6), Kansas City Chiefs (9-7), Green Bay Packers (8-8), Detroit Lions (8-8), Pittsburgh Steelers (8-8), Washington Redskins (8-8), Atlanta Falcons (7-9), Houston Oilers (7-9), Minnesota Vikings (7-9), Oakland Raiders (7-9), St. Louis Cardinals (7-9), Los Angeles Rams (6-10), Seattle Seahawks (6-10), Chicago Bears (6-10), Cleveland Browns (5-11), New Orleans Saints (4-12), Baltimore Colts (2-14), New England Patriots (2-14)

Out in first round: New York Jets (L 31-27 to Bills), Philadelphia Eagles (L 27-21 to Giants)

Out in second round: Miami Dolphins (L 41-38 (OT) to Chargers), Tampa Bay Buccaneers (L 38-0 to Cowboys), New York Giants (L 38-24 to 49ers), Buffalo Bills (L 28-21 to Bengals)

Out in third round: Dallas Cowboys (L 28-27 to 49ers), San Diego Chargers (L 27-7 to Bengals)

Most passing touchdowns: #14 Dan Fouts (Chargers)- 33 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #46 Chuck Muncie (Chargers)- 19 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #84 Alfred Jenkins (Falcons)- 13 TD & 1358 yds

Most interceptions: #24 Everson Walls (Cowboys)- 11 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 12 attempts): #10 Jan Stenerud (Packers)- 22 for 24, 91.7%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: