Photo Credit: eBay

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, January 20th, 1985, the San Francisco 49ers defeated the Miami Dolphins 38-16 in Super Bowl XIX to win the 65th championship in NFL history. It was the second championship for the 49ers franchise as 49ers quarterback Joe Montana won his second Super Bowl MVP Award. The game was held at Stanford Stadium in Stanford, California.

Dolphins quarterback Dan Marino won the 1984 MVP Award with 48 passing touchdowns and 5084 passing yards while Seahawks safety Kenny Easley won the 1984 Defensive Player of the Year Award with 10 interceptions, two of which were returned for touchdowns.

Out of Playoffs: New England Patriots (9-7), Dallas Cowboys (9-7), St. Louis Cardinals (9-7), Green Bay Packers (8-8), Cincinnati Bengals (8-8), Kansas City Chiefs (8-8), New York Jets (7-9), New Orleans Saints (7-9), San Diego Chargers (7-9), Philadelphia Eagles (6-9-1), Tampa Bay Buccaneers (6-10), Cleveland Browns (5-11), Detroit Lions (4-11-1), Indianapolis Colts (4-12), Atlanta Falcons (4-12), Houston Oilers (3-13), Minnesota Vikings (3-13), Buffalo Bills (2-14)

Out in first round: Los Angeles Rams (L 16-13 to Giants), Los Angeles Raiders (L 13-7 to Seahawks)

Out in second round: Washington Redskins (L 23-19 to Bears), Denver Broncos (L 24-17 to Steelers), Seattle Seahawks (L 31-10 to Dolphins), New York Giants (L 21-10 to 49ers)

Out in third round: Pittsburgh Steelers (L 45-28 to Dolphins), Chicago Bears (L 23-0 to 49ers)

Most passing touchdowns: #13 Dan Marino (Dolphins)- 48 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #29 Eric Dickerson (Rams)- 14 TD & 2105 yds

Most receiving touchdowns: #83 Mark Clayton (Dolphins)- 18 TD

Most sacks: #99 Mark Gastineau (Jets)- 22 sacks

Most interceptions: #45 Kenny Easley (Seahawks)- 10 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 12 attempts): #3 Jan Stenerud (Vikings)- 20 for 23, 87%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: