Photo Credit: NFL

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, January 22nd, 1989, the San Francisco 49ers defeated the Cincinnati Bengals 20-16 in Super Bowl XXIII to win the 69th championship in NFL history. It was the third championship for the 49ers franchise as 49ers wide receiver Jerry Rice won the Super Bowl MVP Award. The game was held at Joe Robbie Stadium in Miami.

Bengals quarterback Boomer Esiason won the 1988 MVP Award with 28 passing touchdowns and 3572 passing yards, while Chicago Bears linebacker Mike Singletary won the 1988 Defensive Player of the Year Award with one sack and one interception.

Out of Playoffs: New York Giants (10-6), New Orleans Saints (10-6), Indianapolis Colts (9-7), New England Patriots (9-7), New York Jets (8-7-1), Denver Broncos (8-8), Los Angeles Raiders (7-9), Washington Redskins (7-9), Phoenix Cardinals (7-9), San Diego Chargers (6-10), Miami Dolphins (6-10), Tampa Bay Buccaneers (5-11), Atlanta Falcons (5-11), Pittsburgh Steelers (5-11), Kansas City Chiefs (4-11-1), Green Bay Packers (4-12), Detroit Lions (4-12), Dallas Cowboys (3-13)

Out in first round: Cleveland Browns (L 24-23 to Oilers), Los Angeles Rams (L 28-17 to Vikings)

Out in second round: Seattle Seahawks (L 21-13 to Bengals), Philadelphia Eagles (L 20-12 to Bears), Minnesota Vikings (L 34-9 to 49ers), Houston Oilers (L 17-10 to Bills)

Out in third round: Chicago Bears (L 28-3 to 49ers), Buffalo Bills (L 21-10 to Bengals)

Most passing touchdowns: #11 Jim Everett (Rams)- 31 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #42 Greg Bell (Rams)- 16 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #83 Mark Clayton (Dolphins)- 14 TD

Most sacks: #92 Reggie Wayne (Eagles)- 18 sacks

Most interceptions: #25 Scott Case (Falcons)- 10 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 12 attempts): #3 Eddie Murray (Lions)- 20 for 21, 95.2%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: