Photo Credit: eBay

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, January 31st, 1993, the Dallas Cowboys defeated the Buffalo Bills 52-17 in Super Bowl XXVII to win the 73rd championship in NFL history. It was the third championship for the Cowboys franchise as Cowboys quarterback Troy Aikman won the Super Bowl MVP Award. The game was held at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California.

San Francisco 49ers quarterback Steve Young won the 1992 MVP Award with 25 passing touchdowns and 3,465 passing yards, while Seattle Seahawks defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy won the 1992 Defensive Player of the Year Award with 14 sacks and four forced fumbles.

Out of Playoffs: Green Bay Packers (9-7), Indianapolis Colts (9-7), Denver Broncos (8-8), Cleveland Browns (7-9), Los Angeles Raiders (7-9), New York Giants (6-10), Los Angeles Rams (6-10), Atlanta Falcons (6-10), Cincinnati Bengals (5-11), Tampa Bay Buccaneers (5-11), Chicago Bears (5-11), Detroit Lions (5-11), New York Jets (4-12), Phoenix Cardinals (4-12), New England Patriots (2-14), Seattle Seahawks (2-14)

Out in first round: Minnesota Vikings (L 24-7 to Redskins), New Orleans Saints (L 36-20 to Eagles), Houston Oilers (L 41-38 (OT) to Bills), Kansas City Chiefs (L 17-0 to Chargers)

Out in second round: Pittsburgh Steelers (L 24-3 to Bills), San Diego Chargers (L 31-0 to Dolphins), Philadelphia Eagles (L 34-10 to Cowboys), Washington Redskins (L 20-13 to 49ers)

Out in third round: San Francisco 49ers (L 30-20 to Cowboys), Miami Dolphins (L 29-10 to Bills)

Most passing touchdowns: #8 Steve Young (49ers)- 25 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #22 Emmitt Smith (Cowboys)- 18 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #84 Sterling Sharpe (Packers)- 13 TD

Most sacks: #96 Clyde Simmons (Eagles)- 19 sacks

Most interceptions: #20 Henry Jones (Bills)- 8 INT, 2 TD returns & 263 ret yds

Best field goal percentage (min. 12 attempts): #8 Nick Lowery (Chiefs)- 22 for 24, 91.7%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: