Photo Credit: Times of San Diego

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, June 16th, 2019, the Seattle Seawolves defeated the San Diego Legion in the 2019 MLR Final to win the second championship in Major League Rugby history. It was the second (and, as of this writing, most recent) championship for the Seawolves franchise, as Seawolves back JP Smith won the MLR Final MVP award. The match was held at Torero Stadium in San Diego, California.

Glendale Raptors back John Ryberg and Rugby United New York forward Dylan Fawcitt tied for the most tries during the season with 13, while Seawolves back Brock Staller scored the most total points on the season with 217.

Out of Playoffs: New Orleans Gold (9-7), Glendale Raptors (7-7-2), Houston SaberCats (6-10), Utah Warriors (2-12-2), Austin Elite (0-16)

Out in first round: Toronto Arrows (L 30-17 to Seawolves), Rugby United New York (L 24-22 to Legion)

Scoring Summary

Links to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: