Photo Credit: NASCAR

By Zane Miller

The 2022 NASCAR Cup Series season title will be decided between Joey Logano, Christopher Bell, Chase Elliott and Ross Chastain, as they attempt to win the 74th championship in Cup Series history. The race will also be the ninth since the Championship Four format was established in the 2014 season.

Logano is a past champion amongst this year's season finale playoff field, winning in 2018, while suffering losses in 2014, 2016 and 2020. The 22 car has also won titles in 1949 with Red Byron and 1983 with Bobby Allison.

Bell enters into his first Championship Four appearance, which is also the debut on the 20 car in the final round. The number already has a pair of titles under its belt, courtesy of Tony Stewart in 2002 and 2005.

Elliott has become something of a mainstay in the Championship Four, as he makes his third career appearance in the round. In addition to winning the 2020 title in the 9 car, his father Bill Elliott has also scored a championship with the number in 1988.

Chastain also makes his first career Championship Four visit in the 1 car, which would also make history as the first time the 1 took the #1 spot at season's end.

Championship Four Results (since 2014)