Photo Credit: Detroit Free Press

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, December 29th, 1957, the Detroit Lions defeated the Cleveland Browns 59-14 in the 1957 NFL Championship Game to win the 38th championship in NFL history. It was the fourth (and, as of this writing, most recent) championship for the Lions franchise. The game was held at Briggs Stadium in Detroit.

Cleveland Browns fullback Jim Brown won the 1957 MVP Award with nine rushing touchdowns and 942 rushing yards.

Out of Playoffs: New York Giants (7-5), Baltimore Colts (7-5), Pittsburgh Steelers (6-6), Los Angeles Rams (6-6), Washington Redskins (5-6-1), Chicago Bears (5-7), Philadelphia Eagles (4-8), Green Bay Packers (3-9), Chicago Cardinals (3-9)

Out in first round: San Francisco 49ers (L 31-27 to Lions)

Most passing touchdowns: #19 Johnny Unitas (Colts)- 24 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #32 Jim Brown (Browns)- 9 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #84 Jim Mutscheller (Colts)- 8 TD

Most interceptions: #20 Milt Davis (Colts)- 10 INT & 2 TD returns

Best field goal percentage (min. 9 attempts): #83 Bobby Walston (Eagles)- 9 for 12, 75%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: