Photo Credit: eBay

By Zane Miller

On Sunday, January 12th, 1975, the Pittsburgh Steelers defeated the Minnesota Vikings 16-6 in Super Bowl IX to win the 55th championship in NFL history. It was the first championship for the Steelers franchise as Steelers fullback Franco Harris won the Super Bowl MVP Award. The game was held at Tulane Stadium in New Orleans.

Oakland Raiders quarterback Ken Stabler won the 1974 MVP Award with 26 passing touchdowns and 2469 passing yards, while Steelers defensive tackle Joe Greene won the 1974 Defensive Player of the Year Award, the second time that Greene would claim the honor.

Out of Playoffs: Dallas Cowboys (8-6), Denver Broncos (7-6-1), Houston Oilers (7-7), Detroit Lions (7-7), New York Jets (7-7), Cincinnati Bengals (7-7), Philadelphia Eagles (7-7), New England Patriots (7-7), San Francisco 49ers (6-8), Green Bay Packers (6-8), New Orleans Saints (5-9), Kansas City Chiefs (5-9), San Diego Chargers (5-9), Chicago Bears (4-10), Cleveland Browns (4-10), Atlanta Falcons (3-11), New York Giants (2-12), Baltimore Colts (2-12)

Out in first round: Miami Dolphins (L 28-26 to Raiders), St. Louis Cardinals (L 30-14 to Vikings), Buffalo Bills (L 32-14 to Steelers), Washington Redskins (L 19-10 to Rams)

Out in second round: Los Angeles Rams (L 14-10 to Vikings), Oakland Raiders (L 24-13 to Steelers)

Most passing touchdowns: #12 Ken Stabler (Raiders)- 26 TD

Most rushing touchdowns: #25 Tom Sullivan (Eagles)- 11 TD

Most receiving touchdowns: #21 Cliff Branch (Raiders)- 13 TD

Most interceptions: #18 Emmitt Thomas (Chiefs)- 12 INT

Best field goal percentage (min. 11 attempts): #12 Don Cockroft (Browns)- 14 for 16, 87.5%

Scoring Summary

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: