Photo Credit: Getty Images

By Zane Miller

On Saturday, August 8th, 1992, Germany defeated Australia 2-1 in the gold medal game to win the 17th gold medal in Olympic men’s field hockey history. It was the second gold medal for Germany in Olympic men’s field hockey. Australia took the silver medal with the loss, claiming their third silver medal in Olympic men’s field hockey. Pakistan defeated the Netherlands 4-3 in the bronze medal game, grabbing their second bronze medal in Olympic men’s field hockey history. The Unified Team included players who had intended to represent the Soviet Union, which had dissolved the year prior.

The tournament was held in Spain, with Barcelona as the host city. Floris Jan Bovelander of the Netherlands and Fernando Ferrara of Argentina tied for most goals scored in the tournament with 11.

1992 Final Standings (W-L-T format)

1. Germany (4-0-1, 1.000) (Gold)

2. Australia (4-0-1, 1.000) (Silver)

3. Pakistan (5-0, 1.000) (Bronze)

4. Netherlands (4-1, .800)

5. Spain (3-2, .600)

6. Great Britain (3-2, .600)

7. India (2-3, .400)

8. New Zealand (1-4, .200)

9. Malaysia (1-4, .200)

10. Unified Team (1-4, .200)

11. Argentina (1-4, .200)

12. Egypt (0-5, .000)

Game Results

Link to stats database:

Follow me on Twitter: